How To Apply For A Caste Certificate In India


To apply for a caste certificate in India, you will need to follow the steps given below:

  1. Collect the necessary documents: To apply for a caste certificate, you need to have documents such as a copy of your birth certificate, school leaving certificate, and a copy of your ration card, along with any other documents that may be required by your state government.
  2. Obtain the application form: The first step is to obtain the application form for the caste certificate. The application forms are available at the local tehsil or revenue department office or online on the respective state government’s website.
  3. Fill the application form: Fill out the application form with all the required details such as name, date of birth, address, parent’s name, caste, and other relevant information.
  4. Attach necessary documents: Attach all the necessary documents along with the application form, such as proof of residence, birth certificate, ration card, school leaving certificate, and other relevant documents.
  5. Submit the application form: Submit the application form along with the necessary documents to the local tehsil or revenue department office or online through the respective state government’s website.
  6. Pay the application fee: Pay the application fee as prescribed by the respective state government.
  7. Verification process: After submitting the application, the verification process begins. The tehsildar or revenue department officer will verify the details mentioned in the application form and cross-check the documents submitted.
  8. Issuance of caste certificate: Once the verification process is completed, the caste certificate is issued to the applicant.

The time taken to issue the caste certificate varies from state to state, but it generally takes around 15-30 days. It is important to note that the caste certificate is valid for a lifetime, provided it is not obtained through false means or with incorrect information.

Also Read  How To Apply For A Passport In India

Here are the official websites of the respective states and union territories in India where you can apply for a caste certificate:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands –
  2. Andhra Pradesh –
  3. Arunachal Pradesh –
  4. Assam –
  5. Bihar –
  6. Chandigarh –
  7. Chhattisgarh –
  8. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu –
  9. Delhi –
  10. Goa –
  11. Gujarat –
  12. Haryana –
  13. Himachal Pradesh –
  14. Jammu and Kashmir –
  15. Jharkhand –
  16. Karnataka –
  17. Kerala –
  18. Ladakh –
  19. Lakshadweep –
  20. Madhya Pradesh –
  21. Maharashtra –
  22. Manipur –
  23. Meghalaya –
  24. Mizoram –
  25. Nagaland –
  26. Odisha –
  27. Puducherry –
  28. Punjab –
  29. Rajasthan –
  30. Sikkim –
  31. Tamil Nadu –
  32. Telangana –
  33. Tripura –
  34. Uttar Pradesh –
  35. Uttarakhand –
  36. West Bengal –

Note: The links mentioned above are subject to change over time, and it is advisable to check the respective state government


Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Leave Your Comment

Recent News

Editor's Pick


Get Legal Assistance Today!

Fill out the form below to book a consultation with one of our experienced lawyers.

We’ll get back to you promptly to assist with your legal needs.