CrPC Section 6: Classes of Criminal Courts in India – Explained


CrPC Section 6: Classes of Criminal Courts in India – Explained

1. The Code

Section 6 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973 (CrPC) deals with the classification of criminal courts in India.

2. Explanation

Section 6 outlines the different types of criminal courts in India, each with its own jurisdiction and powers. These classes are:

  • High Courts: The highest courts in a state or union territory, exercising original, appellate, and supervisory jurisdiction over lower courts.
  • Courts of Session: Established under the CrPC, these courts try serious offenses, including those punishable with death or life imprisonment.
  • Magistrates’ Courts: Further classified into:
    • Chief Judicial Magistrate (CJM): The most senior magistrate in a district, responsible for overseeing all other magistrate courts.
    • Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate (ACJM): Assists the CJM with various judicial functions.
    • Judicial Magistrate First Class (JMFC): Tries less serious offenses and can issue warrants for arrest.
    • Judicial Magistrate Second Class (JMSC): Handles minor offenses and can issue warrants for arrest in certain cases.
    • Executive Magistrates: Primarily responsible for maintaining law and order and have limited judicial powers.

3. Illustration

Consider a case where a person is accused of theft. Depending on the severity of the offense, the case could be tried in different courts:

  • If the theft is a minor offense, a JMFC or JMSC might handle the case.
  • If the theft involves a significant amount of money or other valuables, the case might be tried in a Court of Session.
  • If the person appeals against the verdict of a lower court, the case might be heard by the High Court.
Also Read  Section 133 CrPC: Conditional Order for Removal of Nuisance - Explained

4. Common Questions and Answers

Q: What are the differences between a Court of Session and a Magistrate’s Court?

A: A Court of Session is a higher court with more extensive powers, trying serious offenses. Magistrate’s Courts handle less serious offenses and have more limited jurisdiction.

Q: What is the role of an Executive Magistrate?

A: Executive Magistrates primarily maintain law and order, with limited judicial powers. They can issue warrants for arrest in certain situations and investigate minor offenses.

Q: Can a case be transferred from one court to another?

A: Yes, the CrPC provides provisions for transferring cases between courts based on factors like the nature of the offense, the location of the crime, and the convenience of the parties involved.


Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Leave Your Comment

Recent News

Editor's Pick